Boards & Commissions

Planning & Zoning Commission
To ensure that all projects meet the expectations of the citizens of Byram, a Planning and Zoning Commission has been established. This commission meets the second Thursday of each month at 6:00 P.M. at 5901 Terry Road. Their mission is to facilitate orderly, thoughtful growth for the City of Byram. They are responsible for all site plan reviews, subdivision preliminary plats, rezoning matters, and any variances that may be requested. Their recommendations are forwarded to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen for their consideration.  Members of the Planning & Zoning Commission are:

  •                      Ward 1:          James Stingley
  •                      Ward 2:          Londra Hunter
  •                      Ward 3:          Lisa Micich
  •                      Ward 4:          Joyce Paris
  •                      Ward 5:          Mary Lee
  •                      Ward 6:          Perry Smith
  •                      At Large:        Randy Turner

Election Commission
The Election Commission’s responsibilities consist of managing all municipal elections thru June 30, 2017, reviewing the Municipal registered voter lists annually to assist the Hinds County Election Commission with verifications, and training poll workers for the various municipal elections.

  • Mrs. Ann Calhoun
  • Dr. Arnold Stanton
  • Mr. Bud Watkins

Parks & Recreation Committee
The Parks & Recreation Committee, a non-paid volunteer citizen board, was created in September 2014 and is tasked with offering recommendations and consultation to the Board of Aldermen and city departments on the organization, development and maintenance of the City of Byram parks and recreational facilities as well as recreational leagues and activities for the City.  The Citizen Board will maintain membership in the Mississippi Recreation and Park Association.  Members are:

  • Janice Moser
  • James Purvis
  • Gene Marble
  • Nathaniel Nichols
  • Bernard Moore II
  • Donna Ford
  • Nicholas Johnson
  • Erma Johnson